UK200025754

Herbivore

Bakuchiol Smoothing Serum

30ML

Herbivore

Bakuchiol Smoothing Serum

30ML

£45.00
  • In Stock

Select Size
NDULGE
Worth 45 NDULGE points

Sign up to our complimentary loyalty programme, NDULGE and make shopping with us even more rewarding.

  • Earn 1 point for every £1 you spend
  • For every 100 points earned, receive a £5 reward to spend on your next purchase (in-store and online)
  • As part of our community you’ll enjoy exclusive privileges such as a birthday gift every year and event invitations. Plus, enjoy unlimited double points in your first month.
NDULGE
Worth 45 NDULGE points

Sign up to our complimentary loyalty programme, NDULGE and make shopping with us even more rewarding.

  • Earn 1 point for every £1 you spend
  • For every 100 points earned, receive a £5 reward to spend on your next purchase (in-store and online)
  • As part of our community you’ll enjoy exclusive privileges such as a birthday gift every year and event invitations. Plus, enjoy unlimited double points in your first month.

Refine the skin without irritation using the Herbivore Bakuchiol Retinol Alternative Smoothing Serum, a plant-based retinol alternative skincare treatment to help reduce the appearance of lines and wrinkles.

Bakuchiol is derived from the Ayurvedic babchi plant, a purple flower harvested for the Herbivore Bakuchiol Retinol Alternative Smoothing Serum. As well as having a retinoic effect, the serum also utilises exfoliating polyhydroxy acids (PHAs) to encourage a refined skin tone.

The blend of natural botanicals in the serum includes eggplant, turmeric, basil and holy basil extracts, formulated into a bouncy jelly texture to provide a burst of hydration when applied. When used regularly, even those with sensitive skin can enjoy a smooth, even complexion.

Key Benefits

  • Safe for use by pregnant women
  • Water-based serum
  • 100% natural retinol alternative
  • Formulated with botanical extracts
  • Improves dry, dull, uneven complexions
  • Reduces the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles

SKU# UK200025754

AQUA/WATER/EAU, ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF WATER, GLYCERIN, BAKUCHIOL, LEUCONOSTOC/ RADISH ROOT FERMENT FILTRATE, VACCINIUM ANGUSTIFOLIUM (BLUEBERRY) FRUIT EXTRACT, POPULUS TREMULOIDES BARK EXTRACT, GLUCONOLACTONE, AMETHYST EXTRACT, VACCINIUM MYRTILLUS FRUIT EXTRACT, SODIUM PHYTATE, TREMELLA FUCIFORMIS SPOROCARP EXTRACT, MELIA AZADIRACHTA LEAF EXTRACT, MELIA AZADIRACHTA FLOWER EXTRACT, AMINO ESTERS-1, COCCINIA INDICA FRUIT EXTRACT, SOLANUM MELONGENA (EGGPLANT) FRUIT EXTRACT, ALOE BARBADENSIS FLOWER EXTRACT, OCIMUM SANCTUM LEAF EXTRACT, CURCUMA LONGA (TURMERIC) ROOT EXTRACT, CORALLINA OFFICINALIS EXTRACT
Apply 4-6 drops to clean, toned skin and massage in as a leave on treatment. Follow up with moisturizer and facial oil. Use daily or as often as needed.

UK STANDARD DELIVERY £4
Free when you spend £20
Delivery within 2-4 working days.* (Please note, during Sale periods and promotional offers this may take up to 7 working days).

UK NEXT DAY DELIVERY £5
Free when you spend £100
Order before 8pm Monday - Friday, and receive your order the next working day. Orders placed over the weekend or on UK Bank Holidays will be processed the next working day**

EUROPEAN TRACKED DELIVERY £5
Free when you spend £40
Receive your order in 5-7 working days to European countries.

EUROPEAN EXPRESS DELIVERY £8
Free when you spend £100
Receive your order in 1-2 working days to European countries.

Our EU Promise:
We pay all taxes and duties on orders to the EU (excluding Spain). Or receive your order for free. Find out more here

US TRACKED DELIVERY £5
Free when you spend £40
Receive your order in 7-11 working days to the United States

US EXPRESS DELIVERY £10
Free when you spend £100
Receive your order in 1-2 working days to the United States

INTERNATIONAL TRACKED DELIVERY £5
Free when you spend £40
Receive your order in 7-14 working days to rest of world countries.

GIFT WRAPPING
If you'd like to send your order as a gift, we can add a beautiful finishing touch with our gift wrap. Choose complimentary gift wrap at checkout.

With ultra-Instagrammable packaging and non-toxic formulas, Herbivore is one of the most covetable brands of the moment. Created by husband and wife duo Julia and Alex, Herbivore has captured the attention of the beauty set worldwide. From the beautiful skincare featuring blue tansy and rose, to the pretty lip tints there’s something for everyone in the collection.

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great retinol alternative I first used this in the jewel gift set, so loved using it alongside the different oils depending on how my skin felt. Like the prism serum it is a proper serum, silky and just smooths straight into the skin. Unlike retinol products I have had no irritation or redness with this, I only use a couple of times a week but it does really smooth and brighten the skin - feels and looks great afterwards. It defiantly isn't as strong as a retinol results wise but I feel like it is so much better for your skin. I will purchase the full size.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product! Amazing serum, retinol alternative! Makes my skin soft while decreasing the visibility of wrinkles. I’ve tried all sorts of “clean” retinol cremes (eg drunk elephant) but they all irritate my skin. Now I just stick to this one and I’m not stopping! This is my 3rd bottle. I was so scared because they’ve discontinued it for a while, but now it’s finally back!
Date published: 2020-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad this is back! I’m so happy this is back in stock! I love herbivore products and initially bought this as part of the jewel set before quickly buying a full size. I use this every morning with the herbivore lapis facial oil. The result is very soothed skin, with a much smoother and even texture, minimised pores and totally clarified complexion.
Date published: 2020-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn’t seem to do all that much This is the first bakuchiol product I’ve tried, so I approached it with much curiosity. This serum is tinted clear purply-grey and is very thick and gloopy, like snail slime products of yore. It goes on tacky and is better patted rather than rubbed into the skin. No irritation even on days I use it morning and evening. Thing is, I don’t think it does very much for my skin beyond hydration. I don’t use it every day and my skin doesn’t look or feel much different with or without it. I’d finish up the bottle, but I don’t think I’d repurchase.
Date published: 2020-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Gentle Retinol Serum I've been using this as part of the Herbivore Jewel set, in conjunction with the Prism serum, on its own and with other brands' exfoliating serums. I've come to conclude that this does well to refine the skin texture and evens out the skin tone without being harsh or parching the skin, and works well either on its own or with an exfoliating serum (on days when I feel my skin can handle acid serums). It has a subtle scent and absorbs quickly. A little goes a long way and I think once I finish using this from the set I'll be making a purchase for the full size. I'm a fan of Herbivore as it's got great ethos which is a plus!
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice and light Bought this a few months ago . The serum is light and applies easily . It has a gel like watery feel to it and doesn’t have much of a fragrant . Great for a night regime just before bed. It is nice but I have found other serum to work far more effective than this .
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great nighttime serum I am a big fan of Herbivore products and when I saw this alternative to retinol I quickly bought it. The consistency is very gloopy - the instructions state how many drops to use and it is almost impossible to gauge how many drops as it is gelatinous in texture. The first few nights were trial and error as to the amount. I think I was using too much as my jaw lined ballooned up with many bumps underneath my skin. I am now only using it every other night and about half of what I had been using at the beginning. The bumps quickly disappeared. Not witnessing any anti-ageing benefits with the serum but skin is not getting worse. I am half way through the bottle and will wait until I have finished to assess my skin before deciding whether to buy again.
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from IT'S OK It's a nice serum...fairly hydrating with some decent ingredients, It sinks in to the skin, doesn't leave any residue or shine. Im just not sure it really does anything beyond that for me. I didn't notice any visible results and for me it is never going to produce any significant changes when compared to actual retinol. I'll finish it up as a general serum and whilst there is nothing wrong with it, I don't think I'd repurchase
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great retinol alternative I bought this serum about a month ago and have been using it every other nights, so far I like the way it feels and haven't experienced any issues with it. I haven't used it long enough to see long term benefits but so far I like the way it performs. I have very sensitive skin and my skin reacts negatively to retinol so I have had to look at alternatives.
Date published: 2020-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great retinol alternative for sensitive skin! If you have been wary of adding a retinol to your routine, this is a great alternative. It doesn’t irritate my sensitive skin in the slightest or dry it out. I often get flakiness and little bumps on my forehead, giving me that uneven skin texture and this has seriously improved that, in combination with other products from Herbivore. A little really goes a long way with this and like the rest of the Herbivore range, I am obsessed with the packaging.
Date published: 2020-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mild I love the design and chic bottle. I use this maybe five night a weeks. I makes my skins smooth when I wake up in the morning, not flakiness or irritated areas. The texture is easy to apply and a little goes a long way. I don’t know if it really have the same effects as retinol?!
Date published: 2020-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder-ingredient! I am so pleased I bought this when i did, as it's sold out now! I used to be a huuuge fan of Nude Progenius Rescue Oil (oh why did you have to leave?!) and the Bakuchiol (back-ooo-heel) is such great ingredient for my skin. Retinol usually drie me out so much, but this is perfection. Smoothes uneven skin texture, brightens, heals little blemishes. I'm in love! Been using for a week, and delighted with the results!
Date published: 2020-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great An amazing alternative to retinol that can be even used during the day, but I use it at night! I love this! First things first, it looks gorgeous amongst my other skincare - the bottle, color, label, etc are so modern and beautiful. It feels super hydrating when you apply, sinks so deeply into skin and doesn’t leave you sticky. It’s not harsh at all like retinol, which I love. I have definitely seen an improvement in my skin looking younger overall!
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I've been using this serum for a month and the results are amazing!!! I'm just past 30 and noticed a couple of months ago that I was starting to get fine lines in the undereye area and promptly started buying products to treat them. NOTHING has worked until now! At about the 3.5 week mark is when I really started to notice that the lines fading and were less noticeable when I smiled. Bakuchiol is a natural product that doesn't leave your face dry and ACTUALLY improves lines and texture
Date published: 2020-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gentle retinol I really like this herbivore Bakuchiol smoothing serum, it’s a great gender alternative to retinol and perfect for those who have sensitive skin or are new to using retinol, the texture of this serum is a little thicker, almost like syrup therefore a little goes a long way, would highly recommend
Date published: 2020-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A gentler alternative to Retinol Retinol has never worked for me and I have sensitive skin. I love Herbivore products so was keen to give this a try. I have definitely noticed smoother and brighter skin. I use this every few days with a good moisturiser. Will be buying a full size.
Date published: 2019-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely retinol alternative I've always been cautious of retinols as my skin is so sensitive so I was over the moon when this product came out. My skin feels so much brighter and my fine lines are less defined. Definitely recommend this! Herbivore are one of my all time fave brands.
Date published: 2019-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Breaks me out Heartbroken that Herbivore products don't play well with my skin. I bought the mini gems set and ended up gifting it to my friend. I'm using A Passioni every 2 days and I'm feeling fine, not irritated, not scratchy, no nothing, loving it. With bakuchiol being praised for having the same effect on the skin as retinol, without the nasties of retinol, I really wanted to test this out properly. It breaks me out. Every single time I use it I get little tiny bumps all over my face. It's almost like an inflamation of sorts. It does feel nice and smooth on the skin but it takes about 5 hours for it to cause horror and I don't wanna go through that again :/
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Undecided I'm one of the few that Retinol makes no difference too therefore I was very keen to try the Bakuchiol Oil given how much I love other products in the Herbivore range. I like it, it layers well, it sinks in, it doesn't irritate or aggravate my sensitive, easily offended skin, yet I'm not sure if it is actually making any difference. I have used it for a week now, evening, morning, alone and layered. I will keep using it, I want to love it, I'm just not sure yet. I will update this review in the future.
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this brand I bought this serum to use on the nights I don't use prescription retinol. It goes on so nicely and is easily layered. It really does smooth the skin out and isnt drying like retinol can be. Herbivore products in general are excellent and this new product is no exception.
Date published: 2019-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice alternative I have a small size of this product (I purchased the recent set as was eager to try it without committing to the full size) I made the mistake of using a chemical exfoliater before using this and going to bed thinking Iv wake up with lovely skin in the morning. This has exfoliating ingredients which I didn’t realise. My skin did feel very sensitive the next day due to doing this. (I need to read ingredients on products more! Haha) I waited a few days and then tried this product again and was very impressed with the results, it is very hydrating this oil and after using it a few times per week Iv had no further irritation my skin is glowy and has a more youthful appearance.
Date published: 2019-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Serum Really great product , has really helped to improve the texture of my skin noticed a difference even after one use. Has also helped with the radiance of my akin. Have not experienced any irritating side effec making it a great retinol alternative and a great price
Date published: 2019-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Winter retinol alternative I have a small size of this one that I’ve been using for a few weeks now and I can’t say if it has done so much but I definitely see a difference. I like how it’s so gentle making it a perfect winter alternative of retinol. It also feels quite soothing and hydrating while also making my skin feel smoother and more radiant.
Date published: 2019-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great retinol alternative I am a huge fan of herbivore, all of their products I tried so far really work for my skin and I love they are so natural! This is their newest serum and I absolutely love it! Retinol is too hard on my sensitive skin so this is a great alternative that still hydrates and makes my skin very smooth.
Date published: 2019-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable changes in hydration I’ve only been using this serum for a few weeks now so I’m not expecting any radical changes but I’ve already noticed an increase in my hydration levels (I’ve always been prone to dehydrated skin and nothing ever seems to make a difference). I’ve also noticed that the congestion I get around my chin and jaw has cleared up and my skin looks very smooth. If this is down to the bakuchiol then I’m really happy with this product!
Date published: 2019-10-29
  • y_2021, m_6, d_15, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_GB, sid_MUK200025754, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_spacenk-en
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 25ms
  • reviews, product